Ungifted

Ungifted

eBook - 2012
Average Rating:
Rate this:
44
16
1
 …
From #1 New York Times bestselling author Gordon Korman comes a hilarious and heartfelt novel in which one middle-school troublemaker accidentally moves into the gifted and talented program--and changes everything. For fans of Louis Sachar and Jack Gantos, this funny and touching underdog story is a lovable and goofy adventure with robot fights, middle-school dances, live experiments, and statue-toppling pranks!When Donovan Curtis pulls a major prank at his middle school, he thinks he's finally gone too far. But thanks to a mix-up by one of the administrators, instead of getting in trouble, Donovan is sent to the Academy of Scholastic Distinction, a special program for gifted and talented students.Although it wasn't exactly what Donovan had intended, the ASD couldn't be a more perfectly unexpected hideout for someone like him. But as the students and teachers of ASD grow to realize that Donovan may not be good at math or science (or just about anything),...
Publisher: 2012
Branch Call Number: Overdrive
Reproduction: Electronic reproduction. New York : Balzer + Bray, 2012. Requires Adobe Digital Editions (file size: 1441 KB) or Amazon Kindle (file size: N/A KB) or OverDrive Read (file size: N/A KB)
Additional Contributors: OverDrive, Inc
ISBN: 9780062218605

Opinion

From Library Staff

Major screw-up Donovan is supposed to be transferred to a remedial class so he can get his act together. But an administrative error finds him in a gifted STEAM class. Hilarity ensues. Recommended by Mary


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
d
DK123bpl
Apr 22, 2021

I liked this book, and the story, although I found it a bit slow at the beginning. I really liked how even though he wasn't supposed to be at the Gifted school, the students made him feel welcome and the Gifted kids really needed him.

t
TEENREVIEWBOARD
Dec 01, 2020

I like this book a lot. I would definitely recommend this book to others. I think that I would recommend this book to people who want a heartwarming and a comedic story. I think my favourite parts of the story are when the protagonist has to figure out ways to fix his mistakes, it’s funny to see how he does it. The book could have been better if it was longer because I really enjoyed it. The protagonist of this book really reminded me of the protagonist Raph from the book “Middle School, the worst years of my life” by James Patterson. That book also comes from a comedic and heartwarming approach. Overall, I definitely recommend this book to middle/high school students who are looking for a book with comedy and real life aspects. @MatHatter of the Teen Review Board at the Hamilton Public Library

k
keerthananoru
Oct 13, 2020

Ungifted book has a wonderful plot. All of the characters are developed really well. They all are very distinguishable and each add another element to the story. Donovan pulls a huge prank in school causing a lot of damage. Papers get jumbled up, and all of a sudden instead of getting into trouble he ends up at a school for the gifted. The only problem is that he isn’t gifted. He has to somehow fit into a school where people’s IQs are the biggest things there. He has to figure out how to fit in. He makes a lot new friends, and learns a lot. At the end of the story I learnt his normality is what makes him gifted. I recommend this book for doing book reports on, or a fun, light reading.

l
LanyM6
Feb 25, 2020

This book was really good. I enjoyed the action and humor of it. I recommend this book.

l
LegendStrike
May 28, 2019

Well... Have some friends that r reading the book and we made a book club and reading this. i didn't read it YET but Im pretty sure it will affect my sleep according to these other comments ^_^

e
elfiereads
May 27, 2019

Thought it was a child's story....didn't read it

h
humbleworm
Apr 07, 2018

Korman does a fairly good job of getting inside the heads of different characters. Much of his humour here involves caricatures in unlikely situations, which does perpetuate some stereotypes, but he also blurs those lines and promotes the idea that there's synergy in people with different skill sets working together. In reality, most academically gifted kids remain unchallenged and under-developed. If you enjoy this book like I did, there's a 2018 sequel Supergifted.

n
nottherealethen
Apr 07, 2018

This is a VERY well-written book. I only disliked one thing: TOO well-written. I couldn't put it down--I think I got less than three hours of sleep the night I read it!

b
BuffyJulie
Apr 02, 2018

BEST AUTHOR EVER!!!!!!!!!

a
Aaaaaaaargh
Jan 06, 2018

just one problem. you can't put it down.

View All Comments

Age

Add Age Suitability
l
LegendStrike
May 28, 2019

LegendStrike thinks this title is suitable for 7 years and over

r
red_dog_22310
Mar 20, 2019

red_dog_22310 thinks this title is suitable for 7 years and over

b
Benvolia
Oct 23, 2017

Benvolia thinks this title is suitable for 9 years and over

w
WassabiPringle
Jun 03, 2017

WassabiPringle thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 9 and 99

i
incikaya
Jan 11, 2017

incikaya thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 8 and 12

b
BitterMaria
Jul 07, 2015

BitterMaria thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 8 and 14

q
quackersyo
Jan 12, 2015

quackersyo thinks this title is suitable for All Ages

s
svenkatesh129
Jan 03, 2015

svenkatesh129 thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 13 and 18

violet_butterfly_55419 thinks this title is suitable for 11 years and over

blue_fish_456 Jul 14, 2014

blue_fish_456 thinks this title is suitable for 12 years and over

View All Ages

Summary

Add a Summary
b
BitterMaria
Jun 30, 2015

This book is about Donovan Curtis in a terrible situation. It talk about how he got gifted when he bring home B on a quiz. Dr.Schulz (The superintend of the school he was going to before he got gifted...) is trying to catch Donovan but he is kind of safe in his gifted school.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at Skokie Public Library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top