The Woman at the Light

The Woman at the Light

A Novel

Downloadable Audiobook - 2012 | Unabridged
Rate this:
In the tradition of Leila Meacham and Dorothea Benton Frank comes a stunning debut novel about a well-born Southern woman who finds courage and strength to overcome tragedy with an unexpected new love. One afternoon in 1839, Emily Lowry's husband vanishes from Wreckers' Cay, an isolated island off the coast of Key West where he tends the lighthouse. As days stretch into months, Emily has no choice but to take charge of Wreckers' Cay and her husband's duties tending the light to support her three children-and a fourth on the way. Unexpected help arrives when a runaway slave named Andrew washes up on their beach. At first, Emily is intensely wary of this strange, charming man, whose very presence there is highly illegal. But Andrew proves himself an enormous help and soon wins the hearts of the Lowry family. Far from the outside world and society's rules, his place in Emily's life, as steadfast now as the light, will forever change their futures. When Emily's family is ripped apart once again, she faces untold hardships that test her love and determination and show how the passionate love of a defiant, determined woman can overcome any obstacle.
Publisher: [United States] : Blackstone Audio, Inc. : Made available through hoopla, 2012
Edition: Unabridged
Characteristics: 1 online resource (1 audio file (10hr., 42 min.)) : digital
Additional Contributors: Huber, Hillary - Narrator
hoopla digital
ISBN: 9781455125586


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further


Subject Headings


Find it at Skokie Public Library

To Top