The Woman at the Light

The Woman at the Light

A Novel

Downloadable Audiobook - 2012 | Unabridged
Rate this:
In the tradition of Leila Meacham and Dorothea Benton Frank comes a stunning debut novel about a well-born Southern woman who finds courage and strength to overcome tragedy with an unexpected new love. One afternoon in 1839, Emily Lowry's husband vanishes from Wreckers' Cay, an isolated island off the coast of Key West where he tends the lighthouse. As days stretch into months, Emily has no choice but to take charge of Wreckers' Cay and her husband's duties tending the light to support her three children-and a fourth on the way. Unexpected help arrives when a runaway slave named Andrew washes up on their beach. At first, Emily is intensely wary of this strange, charming man, whose very presence there is highly illegal. But Andrew proves himself an enormous help and soon wins the hearts of the Lowry family. Far from the outside world and society's rules, his place in Emily's life, as steadfast now as the light, will forever change their futures. When Emily's family is ripped apart once again, she faces untold hardships that test her love and determination and show how the passionate love of a defiant, determined woman can overcome any obstacle.
Publisher: [United States] : Blackstone Audio, Inc. : Made available through hoopla, 2012
Edition: Unabridged
Characteristics: 1 online resource (1 audio file (10hr., 42 min.)) : digital
Additional Contributors: Huber, Hillary - Narrator
hoopla digital
ISBN: 9781455125586
145512558X

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...
No similar edition of this title was found at Skokie Public Library.

Try searching for The Woman at the Light to see if Skokie Public Library owns related versions of the work.


Suggest for Purchase

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top