The Medical University of South Carolina

The Medical University of South Carolina

eBook - 2011
Rate this:
The Medical University of South Carolina, founded in Charleston in 1824 by the Medical Society of South Carolina, consists of six colleges, each with its own rich history. The College of Medicine was the tenth medical school in the country and the first medical school in the Deep South. Its graduates fought and healed during times of war, tended to the injured after hurricanes and earthquakes, and battled epidemic diseases that swept through the South. The College of Nursing and the College of Pharmacy were established within years of each other at the close of the 19th century. The College of Graduate Studies, the College of Dental Medicine, and the College of Health Professions were established in the later half of the 20th century to fill some of the state's most crucial medical needs. Over the years, the Medical University of South Carolina has educated thousands of doctors, nurses, pharmacists, dentists, and other health care workers and scientists.
Publisher: [United States] : Arcadia Publishing : Made available through hoopla, 2011
Characteristics: 1 online resource
Additional Contributors: hoopla digital
ISBN: 9781439640005


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further


Subject Headings

No similar edition of this title was found at Skokie Public Library.

Try searching for The Medical University of South Carolina to see if Skokie Public Library owns related versions of the work.

Suggest for Purchase

To Top