The Dressmaker's War

The Dressmaker's War

A Novel

eBook - 2016
Average Rating:
4
Rate this:
For readers of Amy Bloom, Sarah Waters, and Anthony Doerr, The Dressmaker's War is the story of a brilliant English seamstress taken prisoner in Germany during World War II: about her perseverance, the choices she makes to stay alive, and the haunting aftermath of war. London, 1939. Ada Vaughan is a young working-class woman with an unusual skill for dressmaking who dreams of opening her own atelier. When she meets Stanislaus von Lieben, a Hungarian aristocrat, a new, better life seems to arrive. Stanislaus sweeps Ada off her feet and brings her to Paris. But when war breaks out and Stanislaus vanishes, Ada is abandoned and alone, trapped on an increasingly dangerous continent. Taken prisoner by the Germans, Ada does everything she can to survive. In the bleak horror of wartime Germany, Ada's skill for creating beauty and glamour is the one thing that keeps her safe. But after the war, attempting to rebuild her life in London, Ada finds that no one...
Publisher: 2016
Branch Call Number: Overdrive
Characteristics: 1 online resource
Reproduction: Electronic reproduction. New York : Random House Trade Paperbacks, 2016. Requires OverDrive Read (file size: N/A KB) or Adobe Digital Editions (file size: 3138 KB) or Amazon Kindle (file size: N/A KB)
Additional Contributors: OverDrive, Inc
ISBN: 9780812997385

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

e
E_Ritchie
Mar 23, 2017

A very compelling read, and not like most WWII stories in the slightest. I devoured this book- it only took me three days to read, I was so captivated by Ada's plight.

Fair warning: this is not a light read, and does not have a happy ending. Don't pick up this book under the guise that you'll have fun reading about loss overcome and happiness through conflict, because that isn't this story. This is a story of a woman dragged into a version of hell, through her own choices and the actions of others, and her try for redemption after bone-shattering grief and cruelty. It may be brutal for readers who have lost children, in whatever way, or are closely connected to the events in wartime Germany.

However, I would recommend this book wholeheartedly. It is the story of an average, naive woman through times thick and thin, and provokes the question, what would I do in her position? Realistic and heart-wrenching, worth the read.

m
martypmonts
Mar 01, 2017

Read this and kept hoping that Ada would learn from her past experiences. Thought how cruel the ending was for woman if that time.

j
JaniceDeG
Jun 21, 2016

Well written book, and an enjoyable read but I found it hard to like the main character!

megannorthcote Jun 16, 2016

A good, but predictable read. Really wish there was a lot more character development with Ada. Story moved a bit too quickly and predictably for my tastes. A quick, interesting historical read though.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at Skokie Public Library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top