Girl in the Blue Coat

Girl in the Blue Coat

eBook - 2016
Average Rating:
Rate this:
11
2
An unforgettable story of bravery, grief, and love in impossible times"Girl in the Blue Coat is a powerful, compelling coming-of-age story set against the dark and dangerous backdrop of World War II. It's an important and page-turning look at the choices all of us—including young adults—have to make in wartime. A beautiful combination of heartbreak, loss, young love, and hope." -Kristin Hannah, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Nightingale"A tapestry of guilt and acceptance, growing responsibility, and reluctant heroism, Hanneke's coming-of-age under heartbreaking circumstances is a jarring reminder of how war consumes and transforms the passions of ordinary life. Every devastating moment of this beautiful novel is both poignant and powerful, and every word feels true." -Elizabeth Wein, New York Times bestselling author of Code Name VerityAmsterdam, 1943. Hanneke spends her days procuring and delivering sought-after black market goods to paying customers, her nights hiding the true nature of her work from her concerned parents, and every waking moment mourning her boyfriend, who was killed on the Dutch front lines when the Germans invaded. She likes to think of her illegal work as a small act of rebellion.On a routine delivery, a client asks Hanneke for help. Expecting to hear that Mrs. Janssen wants meat or kerosene, Hanneke is shocked by the older woman's frantic plea to find a person—a Jewish teenager Mrs. Janssen had been hiding, who has vanished without a trace from a secret room. Hanneke initially wants nothing to do with such dangerous work, but is ultimately drawn into a web of mysteries and stunning revelations that lead her into the heart of the resistance, open her eyes to the horrors of the Nazi war machine, and compel her to take desperate action.Beautifully written, intricately plotted, and meticulously researched, Girl in the Blue Coat is an extraordinary, gripping novel from a bright new voice.
Publisher: 2016
Branch Call Number: Overdrive
Characteristics: 1 online resource
Reproduction: Electronic reproduction. New York : Little, Brown Books for Young Readers, 2016. Requires OverDrive Read (file size: N/A KB) or Adobe Digital Editions (file size: 1600 KB) or Kobo app or compatible Kobo device (file size: N/A KB) or Amazon Kindle (file size: N/A KB)
Additional Contributors: OverDrive, Inc
ISBN: 9780316392730

Opinion

From Library Staff

EDGAR AWARD, BEST YOUNG ADULT NOVEL—In 1943 Nazi-occupied Amsterdam, teenage Hanneke gets involved with finding a missing Jewish girl in a blue coat. Her search opens her life, her eyes, and her heart to reality and the atrocities around her.


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

l
LeslieKiyoung
Mar 22, 2018

amazing thriller. absolutely FANTASTIC. read this book if you like historical fiction and mystery. I was literally on the edge of my chair about to fall off and I finished it in a day.

OPL_AmyW Jan 30, 2018

This unique tale of the Dutch resistance during WWII tells the story of a teenage girl who has to decide how far she is willing to go to solve the mystery of the disappearing girl in the blue coat and resist the Nazi occupation. This is not a fantasy with a perfect hero. Hanneke, like many of the characters, is flawed, and the story feels more realistic and relatable because of her flaws and her struggle to balance protecting her family with protecting an innocent stranger.

h
happycanuck
Dec 21, 2017

Fast paced and hard to put down.

m
melmccurdy
Jun 26, 2017

German occupation, Dutch resistance, a case of mistaken identity, hiding Jews, black market intrigue -- of all these elements make an intriguing and page turning YA WWII historical fiction novel. In fact, there were so many twists and turns at the end, I could have easily started the book again, to re-read what I missed the first time. For those who loved Salt to the Sea or Code Name Verity.

GCPL_Teen Jun 23, 2017

If you enjoy historical fiction with a strong female protagonist this is the book for you. As it is about the Holocaust, it is inevitably heavy.

Beautifully written with an intricate plot, The Girl in the Blue Coat is a memorable example of a young woman's bravery during WWII in Amsterdam. - Denise

t
TheresaAJ
Nov 28, 2016

Hanneke Bakker, a Dutch teenager in 1943 Amsterdam, supports her family by selling goods on the black market while working in a funeral home. When one of her customers reveals that the Jewish girl she was hiding has disappeared, Hanneke is drawn into the Dutch resistance by the older brother of her now deceased boyfriend. Over the next 5 days, Hanneke experiences enough fear and terror to last a lifetime. The author does a good job of portraying a society under German occupation and its diverse attitudes towards the occupiers. Hesse also doesn't let you forget that Hanneke is a teenager with all her brash confidence, thoughtlessness, and impetuous decisions. This story would be good fodder for book clubs for both teenagers and adults.

r
Reads_A_Lot
Sep 11, 2016

Good YA historical fiction set in WWII Amsterdam. An interesting group of young characters dealing with loss, betrayal, guilt and courage, during wartime. A small glimpse at the Amsterdam Student Resistance and a small mystery to keep the pages turning. I liked it.

ArapahoeCatherine Sep 02, 2016

Riveting and intense, this Holocaust novel set in Amsterdam shows the daring of individuals and power of community during one of the world's darkest times. Fans of The Book Thief and Code Name Verity should definitely give this one a try!

m
Maria_Wa
Aug 02, 2016

This book covers a variety of areas including history, romance, mystery, and it is very intense at certain parts. It is very intriguing and I really enjoyed it and its main character.

View All Comments

Quotes

Add a Quote

k
KaseyNB
Apr 13, 2017

“When things come to an end in a way you didn't expect, in a way you never could have imagined, do they really come to an end? Does it mean you should keep searching, for better answers, for ones that don't keep you up at night? Or does it mean it's time to make peace?”

k
KaseyNB
Apr 13, 2017

“Maybe we can't barter our feelings away, trading good deeds for bad ones and expecting to become whole.”

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at Skokie Public Library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top