Asylum

Asylum

Asylum Series, Book 1

eBook - 2013
Average Rating:
Rate this:
21
4
3
 …
Madeleine Roux's New York Times bestselling Asylum is a thrilling and creepy photo-illustrated novel that Publishers Weekly called "a strong YA debut that reveals the enduring impact of buried trauma on a place." Featuring found photographs from real asylums and filled with chilling mystery and page-turning suspense, Asylum is a horror story that treads the line between genius and insanity, perfect for fans of Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children.For sixteen-year-old Dan Crawford, the New Hampshire College Prep program is the chance of a lifetime. Except that when Dan arrives, he finds that the usual summer housing has been closed, forcing students to stay in the crumbling Brookline Dorm—formerly a psychiatric hospital. As Dan and his new friends Abby and Jordan start exploring Brookline's twisty halls and hidden basement, they uncover disturbing secrets about what really went on here . . . secrets that link Dan and his friends to the asylum's dark past. Because Brookline was no ordinary mental hospital, and there are some secrets that refuse to stay buried.Don't miss Madeleine Roux's all-new gothic horror novel, House of Furies.
Publisher: 2013
Branch Call Number: Overdrive
Characteristics: 1 online resource
Reproduction: Electronic reproduction. New York : HarperCollins, 2013. Requires OverDrive Read (file size: N/A KB) or Adobe Digital Editions (file size: 16627 KB) or Kobo app or compatible Kobo device (file size: N/A KB) or Amazon Kindle (file size: N/A KB)
Additional Contributors: OverDrive, Inc
ISBN: 9780062220981

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

I couldn’t get past 30 pages of this one. I hated it so much.

o
olive_gazelle_13
Mar 19, 2018

This book was compelling. The dark theme throughout the book was not too overwhelming or overdone, as the characters and other elements added a lighter side at times. As the author herself stated, the readers can "sketch in their own fears and phobias in a way that you as a writer can't anticipate", basically saying that she puts forth the foundation for fear, which the reader enhances due to their own experience. This combination of adventure, thriller, horror, and mystery keeps you on the edge of your seat, with cliffhangers and twists every chapter. The use of images is a good way to guide the reader to imagine the setting based on one aspect of the place. I was, however, left slightly unsatisfied at the ending; it seemed a bit abrupt and the big reveal did not feel as exciting and horrifying as the reader could have hoped. Over all, though, this was a great read!

t
thecaseforchrist
Feb 18, 2018

Of course there has to be a gay guy in this book! Will no longer read any of Madeleine Roux books.

OPL_KrisC Feb 03, 2018

Asylum is pretty dang creepy and has a lot of twists and turns that will keep you guessing. I loved the pictures included throughout of actual asylums. Since reading Asylum, I have finished the rest of the series and loved all of it. Madeleine Roux is definitely a young adult author that I will always read.

b
bellygoat15
Nov 28, 2017

Asylum was a decent book. the story itself was somewhat interesting. as much as i loved the characters, i felt no connection between myself and the characters. the story lacks detail. the author did not describe the characters, or the environment efficiently. personally, I did not enjoy this book. the book took too long to get to the climax, it didn't get interesting until it was nearly over. of course, there were a few exciting moments to provoke curiosity, but it was barely enough to keep me reading. a good read for a younger audience, but not a challenging or interesting enough book for me.

j
jessicalynn113
Sep 18, 2017

This book started off good! It was a super easy read and it did not waste anytime getting "into it". Every other page of this book features images that go along with what you are reading on the contrasting page which was pretty cool and creepy. However, the ending was a bit of a disappointment. But I don't regret reading it!

c
crazycoolbff
Jan 08, 2017

Loved it!

t
TEENREVIEWBOARD
Dec 14, 2016

I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book! It is a great psychological horror for young adults that really plays with the mind and the psychology behind it. The story follows a young adult as he "test drives" a college. He stays in a building that was once an asylum, that was last run by a man with his very same name... This book manages to teach you a bit, and keeps you guessing until the end. I would highly recommend this for horror fans, particularly ones that like American Horror Story and Hannibal.
- @PerpetuallySleeping of the Teen Review Board at the Hamilton Public Library

I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book! It is a great physiological horror for young adults that really plays with the mind and the psychology behind it. The story follows a young adult as he "test drives" a college. He stays in a building that was once an asylum, that was last run by a man with his very same name.... This book manages to teach you a bit, and keeps you guessing until the end. I would highly recommend this for horror fans, particularly ones that like American Horror Story and Hannibal.

a
AReads16
Jul 10, 2016

I loved this book so much!!!!!
I liked how it had pictures that went along with the story. It is really fun to read parts of the book leading up to the climax at night with a flashlight under the covers. Doing this gives you the sense of being in the book and being watched. This is a great book if you are into horror movies and creepy things. This is also a great book if you enjoy the Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children series.

View All Comments

Age

Add Age Suitability

OPL_KrisC Apr 06, 2018

OPL_KrisC thinks this title is suitable for 12 years and over

v
violet_bear_942
Mar 08, 2017

violet_bear_942 thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over

green_hornet_122 Jul 14, 2015

green_hornet_122 thinks this title is suitable for 10 years and over

k
Kristen MERKE
Aug 04, 2014

Kristen MERKE thinks this title is suitable for 14 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

a
AReads16
Jul 10, 2016

This creepy, but enjoyable, book is about 16 year old Daniel Crawford. It is set at a summer college prep program in New Hampshire. The normal summer housing is closed, so the students are staying at the old Brookline Dorm. This dorm is not like any ordinary dorm, as it used to be an asylum. When Dan and his friends start explore the forbidden basement, they discover secrets from the asylum's dark past that the town wishes to forget about. They reveal connections linking Dan and others to the activities that went on there years ago. From disappearing emails, to the attacks that continue to happen, Dan and his friends must get to the bottom of what twisted things really happened below the psychiatric hospital. Full of photos from asylums, you will be pulled into this gripping novel.

green_hornet_122 Aug 02, 2015

Dan Crawford is thrilled to be attending the summer program for gifted students at New Hampshire College, but once he finds out that he's been housed in a dorm that was formerly an asylum, called Brookline, for the criminally insane. Dan seeks to solve the mysteries of Brooline. Dan soon finds out about mysterious ties he has with the asylum. Dan becomes friends with Abby, a girl with her own mysterious ties to Brookline, Jordan a guy with his own odd quirks, and together the three investigate things that clearly should be left alone, including the forbidden areas of the building, to which Dan can't stop going to.

a
arrowbooks
Jul 09, 2015

Dan Crawford goes to New Hampshire College for the summer in order to do college prep, but gets much more than he bargained for when student dorms are relocated to the town's old asylum, where Dan finds has ties to his shrouded past. Together with his new friends Abby and Jordan, Dan seeks to unravel the mysteries of the asylum, before it drives him insane.

Quotes

Add a Quote

a
AReads16
Jul 10, 2016

Once you get in, there's no getting out.

green_hornet_122 Aug 02, 2015

"No great mind has ever existed without a touch of madness."

Notices

Add Notices

b
Bearskito
Nov 03, 2013

Coarse Language: Lots of swearing.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at Skokie Public Library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top