Magic Marks the Spot

Magic Marks the Spot

The Very Nearly Honorable League of Pirates Series, Book 1

eBook - 2013
Average Rating:
5
2
Rate this:
Pirates! Magic! Treasure! A gargoyle? Caroline Carlson's hilarious tween novel The Very Nearly Honorable League of Pirates #1: Magic Marks the Spot is perfect for fans of Lemony Snicket's Series of Unfortunate Events and Trenton Lee Stewart's Mysterious Benedict Society.Hilary Westfield has always dreamed of being a pirate. She can tread water for thirty-seven minutes. She can tie a knot faster than a fleet of sailors, and she already owns a rather pointy sword.There's only one problem: The Very Nearly Honorable League of Pirates refuses to let any girl join their ranks of scourges and scallywags.But Hilary is not the kind of girl to take no for answer. To escape a life of petticoats and politeness at her stuffy finishing school, Hilary sets out in search of her own seaworthy adventure, where she gets swept up in a madcap quest involving a map without an X, a magical treasure that likely doesn't exist, a talking gargoyle, a crew of misfit scallywags, and the most treacherous--and unexpected--villain on the High Seas.Written with uproarious wit and an inviting storyteller tone, the first book in Caroline Carlson's quirky seafaring series is a piratical tale like no other.
Publisher: 2013
Branch Call Number: Overdrive
Characteristics: 1 online resource
Reproduction: Electronic reproduction. New York : HarperCollins, 2013. Requires OverDrive Read (file size: N/A KB) or Adobe Digital Editions (file size: 3232 KB) or Kobo app or compatible Kobo device (file size: N/A KB) or Amazon Kindle (file size: N/A KB)
Additional Contributors: OverDrive, Inc
ISBN: 9780062194336

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

vpl_childrens Dec 08, 2015

Interest level: ages 8-12. Hilary Westfield has always dreamed of being a pirate. The only problem is that The Very Nearly Honourable League of Pirates has refused her application because she’s a girl. But that doesn’t stop Hilary! What follows is a hilarious adventure involving magical treasure and talking gargoyles.

s
SilverArctic2006
Sep 21, 2015

Hilary is totally amazing! I have a hunch that she actually likes Charlie. Can you even believe everyone is all like you have to be prissy and perfect?:c But Hilary had a strong dream to be a pirate and she wouldn't let anything stop her. Not even her ever villainous father! Go Hilary! :D

JCLChrisK Feb 17, 2015

"When someone had been nimble enough to lace Hilary into a dress, her father would kiss her on the forehead and say, 'Run along and be a good little girl.' Hilary intended to be a great many things, and a good little girl was not one of them."

No, Hilary is bound and determined to be, above all else, a nefarious scoundrel of the piratical variety. Unfortunately, the overly-bureaucratic Very Nearly Honorable League of Pirates (Servin' the High Seas for 152 Years) has rejected her membership application on the basis of her female status, and her pirate-hunting, admiral father has responded to the application by sending her off to Miss Pimm's Finishing School for Delicate Ladies (Where Virtue Blossoms). But no school is going to keep Hilary from becoming a rapscallion and scallywag, so she is left with no choice but to take matters into her own hands by running away from school and signing on with Jasper Fletcher, Freelance Pirate, Terror of the Southlands (VNHLP certified in battle, treasure hunting, & parrot maintenance) on his mission to find the lost magic of the Enchantress of the Northlands.

This is a delightfully fun story that offers heaps of adventure and an uproarious send-up of proper high society stuffiness, gender norms, and ridiculously burdensome procedures and legalese. The letterheaded correspondences, articles, signs, and forms that appear between chapters are particularly brilliant.

And absolutely top marks to Kathrine Kellgren's appropriately exuberant and melodramatic audiobook reading, which cartoonishly nails the wide variety of voices, accents, cadences, and manners, from full-on coarse pirate to polished and prudish upper crust and everything in between.

Tam_Girl12 Jan 26, 2015

a very good book funny and interesting :D

ChristchurchLib Jan 28, 2014

"Banned from a pirate league that does not allow girls, aspiring young buccaneer Hilary Westfield balks at attending a finishing school for delicate young ladies and embarks on an adventure with a gargoyle companion to defeat a treacherous villain and claim a mythical magic treasure." Kids' Books January 2014 newsletter http://www.libraryaware.com/996/NewsletterIssues/ViewIssue/42e4bf1b-11e5-495a-bc55-6afd3991ab1d?postId=7ba0124d-8f36-493b-b7b3-8844aefa84f4

Age

Add Age Suitability

s
SilverArctic2006
Sep 21, 2015

SilverArctic2006 thinks this title is suitable for 7 years and over

Tam_Girl12 Jan 26, 2015

Tam_Girl12 thinks this title is suitable for All Ages

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at Skokie Public Library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top