Small Admissions

Small Admissions

A Novel

eBook - 2016
Average Rating:
Rate this:
4
2
People’s Book of the Week “Perfect for fans of Curtis Sittenfeld's Prep.”—Booklist Top 6 Books You Need to Read—BuzzFeed Best Books to Give Every Book Lover on Your List—Town & Country In this witty, hilarious, and entertaining novel that’s “The Devil Wears Prada meets Primates of Park Avenue” (The New York Times), a young woman is unexpectedly thrust into the cutthroat world of New York City private school admissions.Despite her innate ambition and summa cum laude smarts, Kate Pearson has turned into a major slacker. After being unceremoniously dumped by her handsome “almost fiancé,” she abandons her plans and instead spends her days lolling on the couch, watching reruns of Sex and the City. Her friends don’t know what to do other than pass tissues and hope for a comeback, while her practical sister, Angela, pushes every remedy she can think of, from trapeze class to therapy to job interviews. Miraculously, Kate manages to land a job in the admissions department at the revered Hudson Day School. In her new position Kate learns there’s no time for self-pity or nonsense during the thick of the admissions season, or what her colleagues refer to as “the dark time.” As the process revs up, Kate meets smart kids who are unlikable, likeable kids who aren’t very smart, and Park Avenue parents who refuse to take no for an answer. Through a comical and crazy run of wildly unpredictable interviews, subtle bribes, outright threats, final judgments, and page-turning twists, the highly competitive and occasionally absurd world of private school admissions is brought to light in all of its outrageous glory that is reminiscent of Curtis Sittenfeld’s Prep.
Publisher: 2016
Branch Call Number: Overdrive
Characteristics: 1 online resource
Reproduction: Electronic reproduction. New York : Atria/Emily Bestler Books, 2016. Requires OverDrive Read (file size: N/A KB) or Adobe Digital Editions (file size: 3448 KB) or Kobo app or compatible Kobo device (file size: N/A KB) or Amazon Kindle (file size: N/A KB)
Additional Contributors: OverDrive, Inc
ISBN: 9781501122545

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

l
lyama10
Mar 03, 2018

This was a book club pick. Our group thought it was an entertaining read with an inside look at the admissions process.

b
bookycakes
May 08, 2017

It was fun. It was fast. It was exactly what I needed.

Every character is lovable (even the ones you love to hate). Every aspect of this book makes you root for the families and friends within, and the twists and turns are at once delightful and unexpected. The book becomes more about Kate's circle of support than Kate herself, and getting to know these characters was a real treat. I want to go back and read it all over again. It's hard to find a book in the 'new adult' age category that isn't filed under romance (often explicit) but this one is a genre outlier, funny and broad in its spectrum of emotions, and I hope to see more like it in the near future.

UPDATE: I've just a reread of this lovely, lovely book, and it had revived my love of reading. Please give it a shot.

SPL_Stephanie Feb 08, 2017

Full review can be found under "Summary." Published under Stratford Gazette February 2017.

BostonPL_LauraB Jan 20, 2017

I enjoyed this new chick-lit novel centered mostly around Kate, who after getting dumped and wallowing in misery for the last year, finally gets a job (with her sister's help) in admissions for a New York private school. I was not expecting multiple narratives for this, and at first I wasn't sure it would totally work, but in the end it did. It did mean I wasn't overly attached to any one character, but I had no problem with that at all. If you are looking for a fun, easy read - this will do the trick.

Summary

Add a Summary

SPL_Stephanie Feb 08, 2017

To say that Kate Pearson is in a rut is a complete understatement. When author Amy Poeppel introduces us to Kate in her latest novel, Small Admissions, she has been wearing the same dirty sweatpants for months, has managed to avoid showering for an inconceivable number of weeks, and hasn’t been outside for days. But Kate wasn’t always affixed to her sofa; in fact, she once boasted endless thoughts of attending prestigious grad schools and pursuing a career in the Anthropology field. After abandoning her plans to follow love to Paris, her heart was shattered and her dreams were broken.

On the opposite end of the spectrum, Kate’s busy-body sister, Angela, has been working diligently to keep Kate afloat. After finding her a somewhat suitable living arrangement, Angela set off to find Kate a job. Though Kate bungled the interview, she somehow found herself in the wild and whirling world of private school admissions. While getting her own life on track, she is forced to determine the future of young children whose parents are aggressively determined to get their child into the best schools, no matter the cost.

This epistolary novel enters the world of a twenty-something quirky character that is desperately trying to get her life together. Through her upbeat and engaging writing style, Poeppel brings humorous light to the stressful admission process. The author provides alternating narrative perspectives that range from fierce emails from anxious parents to easy-going messages between friends. These offer unique insight into Kate’s professional and personal correspondence truly brings readers into the life of the main characters.
Those that enjoy the whimsical characters crafted by Sophie Kinsella will appreciate this heartwarming read. If you are looking for a light and easy-going read, take a journey with Amy Poeppel to get you through the February blues.

Check out this title and many more at https://spl.bibliocommons.com/.

SPL_Stephanie Feb 08, 2017

To say that Kate Pearson is in a rut is a complete understatement. When author Amy Poeppel introduces us to Kate in her latest novel, Small Admissions, she has been wearing the same dirty sweatpants for months, has managed to avoid showering for an inconceivable number of weeks, and hasn’t been outside for days. But Kate wasn’t always affixed to her sofa; in fact, she once boasted endless thoughts of attending prestigious grad schools and pursuing a career in the Anthropology field. After abandoning her plans to follow love to Paris, her heart was shattered and her dreams were broken.

On the opposite end of the spectrum, Kate’s busy-body sister, Angela, has been working diligently to keep Kate afloat. After finding her a somewhat suitable living arrangement, Angela set off to find Kate a job. Though Kate bungled the interview, she somehow found herself in the wild and whirling world of private school admissions. While getting her own life on track, she is forced to determine the future of young children whose parents are aggressively determined to get their child into the best schools, no matter the cost.

This epistolary novel enters the world of a twenty-something quirky character that is desperately trying to get her life together. Through her upbeat and engaging writing style, Poeppel brings humorous light to the stressful admission process. The author provides alternating narrative perspectives that range from fierce emails from anxious parents to easy-going messages between friends. These offer unique insight into Kate’s professional and personal correspondence truly brings readers into the life of the main characters.
Those that enjoy the whimsical characters crafted by Sophie Kinsella will appreciate this heartwarming read. If you are looking for a light and easy-going read, take a journey with Amy Poeppel to get you through the February blues.

Check out this title and many more at https://spl.bibliocommons.com/.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at Skokie Public Library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top