The Girl Before

The Girl Before

A Novel

eBook - 2017
Average Rating:
Rate this:
10
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLERIn the tradition of The Girl on the Train, The Woman in Cabin 10, and Gone Girl comes an enthralling psychological thriller that spins one woman's seemingly good fortune, and another woman's mysterious fate, through a kaleidoscope of duplicity, death, and deception.SOON TO BE A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE DIRECTED BY RON HOWARDPlease make a list of every possession you consider essential to your life.The request seems odd, even intrusive—and for the two women who answer, the consequences are devastating. EMMA Reeling from a traumatic break-in, Emma wants a new place to live. But none of the apartments she sees are affordable or feel safe. Until One Folgate Street. The house is an architectural masterpiece: a minimalist design of pale stone, plate glass, and soaring ceilings. But there are rules. The enigmatic architect who designed the house retains full control: no books, no throw pillows, no photos or clutter or personal effects of any kind. The space is intended to transform its occupant—and it does. JANE After a personal tragedy, Jane needs a fresh start. When she finds One Folgate Street she is instantly drawn to the space—and to its aloof but seductive creator. Moving in, Jane soon learns about the untimely death of the home's previous tenant, a woman similar to Jane in age and appearance. As Jane tries to untangle truth from lies, she unwittingly follows the same patterns, makes the same choices, crosses paths with the same people, and experiences the same terror, as the girl before.Praise for The Girl Before "Dazzling, startling, and above all cunning—a pitch-perfect novel of psychological suspense."—Lee Child"The Girl Before generates a fast pace. . . . [J. P.] Delaney intersperses ethics questions on stand-alone pages throughout the book. . . . The single most ingenious touch is that we're not provided either woman's answers."—The New York Times"J. P. Delaney builds the suspense."—Vanity Fair"Immediate guarantee: You will not be able to put this book down. . . . Fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train will realize that there's not only more where that came from, but it's also more thrilling."—American Booksellers Association
Publisher: 2017
Branch Call Number: Overdrive
Characteristics: 1 online resource
Reproduction: Electronic reproduction. New York : Ballantine Books, 2017. Requires OverDrive Read (file size: N/A KB) or Adobe Digital Editions (file size: 6317 KB) or Kobo app or compatible Kobo device (file size: N/A KB) or Amazon Kindle (file size: N/A KB)
Additional Contributors: OverDrive, Inc
ISBN: 9780425285053

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

l
LoveChild60
Jul 29, 2018

I didn't make it past the 64th page...boring and ridiculous. No stars, unless its in the negative...won't be reading another of this authors "works". -5 stars

n
neesa11
Mar 08, 2018

Fun and easy read I couldn't put it down lots of twists and turns... read it in a day... not the best book I've ever read, but entertaining :)

s
slarsen
Mar 06, 2018

YAWN

m
matcat44
Nov 04, 2017

How anyone could consider this good is beyond me. Pretentious and boring.

ehbooklover Aug 28, 2017

A page-turner of a read that sucked me in immediately, and kept me interested with all of its many twists and turns. I really loved the premise of this book and its creepiness factor.

CMLReads_Kristin Jun 10, 2017

Lots of twists and turns in this thriller. Fans of Gone Girl and Girl on a Train will appreciate.

s
swheeler89
May 17, 2017

Entertaining, quick read with some twists. Worth your time, but by no means a must read. Elements reminded me of Girl on Train - tough to find a likable character.

y
YoNella
Apr 17, 2017

A nice bit of fluff. I chose this as a palate cleanser between heavier books. It's a quick read.

MGBustillo Mar 24, 2017

One house and two women's lives collide in a suspenseful mountain of lies and deception. Alternating between the past: Emma and the present: Jane, Delaney presents several truths about each woman's choices when they accept the strange conditions to living in the minimalist home of Edward Monkford. One of the best books I read this year and it doesn't come out till January 2017. I can almost guarantee this one will be the Best of 2017 Books for many.

JCLGreggW Dec 30, 2016

A delight for psychological thriller fans about a young couple who rents a London house built by a reclusive and eccentric architect - and they discover what happened to the previous renter. Strong character work, including the house itself, which seems like its own character. Taut and gripping.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at Skokie Public Library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top