Anna and the Swallow Man

Anna and the Swallow Man

Downloadable Audiobook - 2016 | Unabridged
Average Rating:
3
Rate this:
Winner of the 2017 Odyssey Award for Excellence in Audiobook Production A New York Times BestsellerA Booklist Editors' Choice Audio An AudioFile Best Audiobook of the Year A Publishers Weekly Best Book of the Year A Shelf Awareness Best Book of the YearA Bulletin Blue Ribbon Book Winner of the Indies Choice Book Award Winner of the Sydney Taylor Book Award "Exquisite." —The Wall Street Journal"This is masterly storytelling." —The New York Times Book ReviewA stunning, beautiful, and ambitious debut novel set in Poland during the Second World War perfect for readers of All the Light We Cannot See and The Book Thief. Kraków, 1939. A million marching soldiers and a thousand barking dogs. This is no place to grow up. Anna Łania is just seven years old when the Germans take her father, a linguistics professor, during their purge of intellectuals in Poland. She's alone. And then Anna meets the Swallow Man. He is a mystery, strange and tall, a skilled deceiver with more than a little magic up his sleeve. And when the soldiers in the streets look at him, they see what he wants them to see. The Swallow Man is not Anna's father—she knows that very well—but she also knows that, like her father, he's in danger of being taken, and like her father, he has a gift for languages: Polish, Russian, German, Yiddish, even Bird. When he summons a bright, beautiful swallow down to his hand to stop her from crying, Anna is entranced. She follows him into the wilderness. Over the course of their travels together, Anna and the Swallow Man will dodge bombs, tame soldiers, and even, despite their better judgment, make a friend. But in a world gone mad, everything can prove dangerous. Even the Swallow Man. Destined to become a classic, Gavriel Savit's stunning debut reveals life's hardest lessons while celebrating its miraculous possibilities.
Publisher: New York : Listening Library (Audio), 2016
Edition: Unabridged
Branch Call Number: Overdrive
Characteristics: audio file
1 online resource (6 audio files) : digital
Additional Contributors: Corduner, Allan
OverDrive, Inc
ISBN: 9781101891841

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

SPPL_Anna Mar 13, 2018

This is a beautiful book, made all the more beautiful by the narration in its audio form. Be careful listening in the car because I had to pull over at the end because I was crying.

JCLChrisK Jul 20, 2017

This is a reserved, soft-spoken war book, a tale of survival in the midst of horror that chooses its words as carefully and elegantly as the meticulous Swallow Man of the title, communicating much of its story with silence and allusions. It is a story of abandonment and isolation and one of tentative connection. It is quietly, deeply moving.

People are dangerous. People are necessary.

When seven-year-old Anna's father disappears from their German-occupied Polish home near the start of World War II, she is alone. When she and an odd stranger recognize something kindred in each other, he reluctantly agrees to take her in. Or, more precisely, to take her out. His survival strategy is constant movement through the wilderness, nameless and forgettable. He teaches Anna his ways, and for four years they wander the countryside with as limited human contact as possible. Danger is everywhere, though, and ultimately unavoidable, and neither escapes the experience unscathed.

bandblair Jul 13, 2017

Extremely well-written and well-performed by the narrator. Less about the war than you might think and more about the relationship between Anna and the Swallow Man and human nature, in general. Recommended for fans of The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at Skokie Public Library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top