Always

Always

A Novel

eBook - 2017
Average Rating:
6
1
Rate this:
A gripping novel about the kind of love that never lets go, and the heart's capacity to remember, from the New York Times bestselling author of Blackberry Winter and The Violetes of MarchEnjoying a romantic candlelit dinner with her fiancé, Ryan, at one of Seattle's chicest restaurants, Kailey Crain can't believe her good fortune: She has a great job as a journalist and is now engaged to a guy who is perfect in nearly every way. As she and Ryan leave the restaurant, Kailey spies a thin, bearded homeless man on the sidewalk. She approaches him to offer up her bag of leftovers, and is stunned when their eyes meet, then stricken to her very core: The man is the love of her life, Cade McAllister. When Kailey met Cade ten years ago, their attraction was immediate and intense—everything connected and felt right. But it all ended suddenly, leaving Kailey devastated. Now the poor soul on the street is a faded version of her former beloved: His weathered and weary face is as handsome as Kailey remembers, but his mind has suffered in the intervening years. Over the next few weeks, Kailey helps Cade begin to piece his life together, something she initially keeps from Ryan. As she revisits her long-ago relationship, Kailey realizes that she must decide exactly what—and whom—she wants. Alternating between the past and the present, Always is a beautifully unfolding exploration of a woman faced with an impossible choice, a woman who discovers what she's willing to save and what she will sacrifice for true love.Advance praise for Always "A heartwarming story of personal growth and the power of nostalgia . . . Fans of Elin Hilderbrand and Emily Giffin should enjoy this warm and compassionate novel."—Booklist Praise for Sarah Jio Goodnight June "Sarah Jio's delightful and uplifting novel is guaranteed to melt even the toughest cynic and deserves a top rating of five stars (plus the moon)."—Historical Novels Review "A tribute to family and forgiveness."—Booklist Morning Glory "Jio explores the degree to which time and distance give comfort to those who have experienced loss [with] a depth of feeling in her writing."—Publishers Weekly "Jio has become one of the most-read women in America."—Woman's World Blackberry Winter "Compelling . . . an intoxicating blend of mystery, history, and romance."—Real Simple "Ingenious . . . imaginative."—The Seattle Times
Publisher: 2017
Characteristics: 1 online resource
Reproduction: Electronic reproduction. New York : Ballantine Books, 2017. Requires OverDrive Read (file size: N/A KB) or Adobe Digital Editions (file size: 2017 KB) or Kobo app or compatible Kobo device (file size: N/A KB) or Amazon Kindle (file size: N/A KB)
Additional Contributors: OverDrive, Inc
ISBN: 9781101885031

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

p
pp47
Sep 03, 2017

as ALWAYS, a unique and compelling read.I read it in one day.

r
RustyReader9
Jul 18, 2017

I found it really hard to connect with the characters because of the back and forth of the chapters.

ehbooklover Jun 05, 2017

This was a nice light romance that also managed to discuss the subject of homelessness in a respectful and unique way.

t
Tjad2L
Apr 28, 2017

I've read all of Sarah Jio's books and really enjoy her stories. She write PG romance with a little mystery and suspense mixed in. Always isn't my favorite of her books... Orphan Kailey. Wealthy, successful and handsome Ryan. And the hot, rich, fun Cade... just weren't believable characters. But it's a fun light read.

e
eawesson
Mar 05, 2017

A "chick" type of love story whose setting is Seattle, Washington. I loved the descriptions of the town and the author's writing style keeps you turning the pages. The story opens with two people engaged and after eating out she is giving money to a homeless man, when she realizes it is her true love who disappeared ten years earlier. She finds that he has had a brain injury and sets about to help him recover. I felt the ending too easy and almost as if the author didn't want to make it too complicated, even though she makes the reader think that his partner in business caused his head injury, but he ends up being a good guy. So would I recommend it? If you are in the need for a happy ending with a light, feel good love story, yes.

d
dontbugmeimreading
Feb 13, 2017

I enjoyed this book and buzzed through it in a weekend. Cade was a wonderful tortured hero. And the will-she-or-won't-she kept me wondering until the end - give up a seemingly perfect life for a ex-lover with mental issues? However, it bothered me that Kailey's love of her life just disappeared one night and she didn't do anything to try to find him. No missing person report filed with the police? No "have you seen" signs put up on telephone poles around the neighbourhood? Instead she left town to deal with her heartbreak. Also, I would have liked to have read a little more on how Cade survived living on the streets of Seattle for ten years in the condition he was in.

Age

Add Age Suitability

t
Tjad2L
Apr 28, 2017

Tjad2L thinks this title is suitable for 18 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at Skokie Public Library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top