Caraval

Caraval

Caraval Series, Book 1

eBook - 2017
Average Rating:
Rate this:
41
3
3
 …
The acclaimed New York Times bestseller! Welcome, welcome to Caraval—Stephanie Garber's sweeping tale of the unbreakable bond between two sisters. It's the closest you'll ever find to magic in this world...Scarlett has never left the tiny island where she and her beloved sister, Tella, live with their powerful, and cruel, father. Now Scarlett's father has arranged a marriage for her, and Scarlett thinks her dreams of seeing Caraval, the far-away, once-a-year performance where the audience participates in the show, are over.But this year, Scarlett's long-dreamt of invitation finally arrives. With the help of a mysterious sailor, Tella whisks Scarlett away to the show. Only, as soon as they arrive, Tella is kidnapped by Caraval's mastermind organizer, Legend. It turns out that this season's Caraval revolves around Tella, and whoever finds her first is the winner.Scarlett has been told that everything that happens during Caraval is only an elaborate performance. But she nevertheless becomes enmeshed in a game of love, heartbreak, and magic with the other players in the game. And whether Caraval is real or not, she must find Tella before the five nights of the game are over, a dangerous domino effect of consequences is set off, and her sister disappears forever.Welcome, welcome to Caraval . . . beware of getting swept too far away.New York Times bestseller#1 IndieNext PickPublishers Weekly Flying StartEntertainment Weekly Best 10 YA Books of 2017Teen Vogue Best YA Book of the YearAmazon Best Book of the YearBarnes & Noble Best Book of the YearBuzzFeed Best Book of the Year"The Hunger Games meets The Night Circus. Grade: A-." —Entertainment Weekly"Impressive, original, wondrous." —USA Today"Spellbinding." —US Weekly"Magnificent." —Publishers Weekly, starred review"I lost myself in this world." —Sabaa Tahir, author of An Ember in the Ashes"Beautifully written." —Renée Ahdieh, author of The Wrath and the Dawn"Shimmers with magic." —Marie Rutkoski, author of The Winner's Curse"Darkly enchanting." —Kiersten White, author of And I Darken"Decadent." —Roshani Chokshi, author of The Star-Touched Queen"Like stepping into a living dream." —Stacey Lee, author of Outrun the Moon"Destined to capture imaginations." —Kirkus Reviews"Ideal for fans of The Night Circus, Stardust, and The Hunger Games." —School Library Journal
Publisher: 2017
Branch Call Number: Overdrive
Characteristics: 1 online resource
Reproduction: Electronic reproduction. New York : Flatiron Books, 2017. Requires OverDrive Read (file size: N/A KB) or Adobe Digital Editions (file size: 4069 KB) or Kobo app or compatible Kobo device (file size: N/A KB) or Amazon Kindle (file size: N/A KB)
Additional Contributors: OverDrive, Inc
ISBN: 9781250095275

Opinion

From Library Staff

"Scarlett has never left the tiny island where she and her beloved sister, Tella, live with their ruthless father. Now Scarlett's father has arranged a marriage for her and Scarlett thinks her dreams of seeing the legendary once-a-year Caraval performance where the audience participates in t... Read More »


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

t
TipsyDanger
Dec 12, 2018

This book was such a disappointment. The protagonist Scarlet is a very flat, tell-don't-show character, and the "villains" are lifeless. The word crafting can be lovely, but nothing can dress up a such a bland, predictable cast of characters and plot points.

Every discovery is convenient, and the struggles are painfully dull. It was a poor reproduction of some popular YA tropes that were well received in more successful books (The Lunar Chronicles and The Hunger Games) with a hint of longing toward being the next The Night Circus.

Overall, the book failed to deliver on its many promises as one of the most highly anticipated YA novels of the year.

JCLShannonG Dec 04, 2018

The perfect combination of magic and mystery. It was action-packed and kept me guessing. I loved this one!

g
Gwen904
Oct 22, 2018

Absolutely amazing.
It's exciting.
It's engrossing.
It's the unforgettable tale of two sisters and a dangerous, magical game.

Scarlett was an exemplary protagonist: modest, decent, and determined to save Tella. The author, Stephanie Garber, writes with ease and beauty. The plot is twisty and moves at a rapid pace, building up suspense, mystery, and secrets. It's a bit too fast at some parts, so fast that it's confusing, but I didn't find it to be problematic. The story was a bit eccentric and didn't quite seem real, but nevertheless I thoroughly enjoyed this engaging fantasy and it holds a secure place on my "favourites" shelf.

In short, I love this book.

b
begue88
Oct 05, 2018

I really enjoyed this book. The author did a wonderful job of developing the characters and describing the magic of Caraval in a way that makes you feel like you are there. There are a lot of plot twists that keep you guessing until the very end.

c
CoralJohnson
Aug 21, 2018

This was one of my favourite books i have ever read. It was a fantasy book though I recommend to everyone even to people that don't like fantasy books. I dont really enjoy fantasy books though I enjoyed this book... It's a book about two sisters that want different things though at the same time the same things. You will have to read the book to get what I am saying.
great book!!!

ArapahoeLauren Jul 23, 2018

The author uses beautiful descriptive scenes where you can almost feel or taste or touch - yes, it's that well done. I enjoyed the storyline, but it didn't quite hit the mark for me. It did have some good twists that I wasn't expecting! Give it a try.

kirstd31 Jun 21, 2018

I listened to this book. The reader was great! The story was intriguing and I did not want to stop listening to this story.

g
grooven
Jun 09, 2018

Really let down by this book. To describe it in a few words, a poor man's Willy Wonka.
I was told this book would be amazing. Then, hearing it had film acquisition only pushed that excitement further.

This story would've been successful in first person so we could feel and see the world from Scarlett's eyes. Constantly the goals, emotions, and wonder from the character is lost. This serves up hollow emotions and a meandering plot. A major point of the story, being romance, fails horribly since there's nothing we can see about Julian that is likable.

The whole part of the game is to find her sister and later, it becomes a hindsight affair. The clues/mystery in the game are really lackluster and aren't written coherently. This effects parts of the story that don't add up or make any logical sense. Never does Scarlett ever question what's real or not even when a certain character randomly appears. Completely unacceptable and unbelievable. The ending works, but the rest of the story can't hold up the rest of the story that drags behind.

Pro:
-The way the character sees color is really unique and adds something new to the story
-Pieces of the world are really in intriguing
-Parts of the story setup and world appear interesting
-Ending clears up lots of loose bits (not everything)

Con:
-POV of story does not work
-Parts of the story come off as half brained ideas that make no logical sense
-Romance doesn't work
-Characters are far from likable
-Huge let down in terms of actual world building for the game, which focuses on lore aspect instead
-Main character motives make no logical sense in connection to the game.

ArapahoeSusanW Jun 06, 2018

Maybe I'm jaded from reading so many books in the YA "Romance/Fantasy/Dystopia" genre but although "Caraval" is very readable, I just couldn't work up a lot of enthusiasm for it. Other series, most notably, "Poison Study" by Maria Snyder cover this genre more adeptly.

OPL_KrisC Apr 25, 2018

What initially caught my attention was the gorgeous cover and fanciful font and then the story drew me in even further. This book is a great combination of fantasy, magic, and romance set in a Cirque Du Soleil-like setting. The author does a very good job at describing her world and helping to create a stunning visual.

View All Comments

Age

Add Age Suitability

g
Gwen904
Oct 22, 2018

Gwen904 thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over

OPL_KrisC Apr 25, 2018

OPL_KrisC thinks this title is suitable for 12 years and over

n
Natashastales
Jan 15, 2018

Natashastales thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over

Quotes

Add a Quote

k
KaseyNB
Apr 13, 2017

“She imagined loving him would feel like falling in love with darkness, frightening and consuming yet utterly beautiful when the stars came out.”

k
KaseyNB
Apr 13, 2017

“No one is truly honest,” Nigel answered. “Even if we don't lie to others, we often lie to ourselves. And the word good means different things to different people.”

k
KaseyNB
Apr 13, 2017

“Every person has the power to change their fate if they are brave enough to fight for what they desire more than anything.”

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at Skokie Public Library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top