Before We Were Yours

Before We Were Yours

A Novel

eBook - 2017
Average Rating:
Rate this:
44
2
1
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLERFor readers of Orphan Train and The Nightingale comes a "thought-provoking [and] complex tale about two families, two generations apart . . . based on a notorious true-life scandal."*Memphis, 1939. Twelve-year-old Rill Foss and her four younger siblings live a magical life aboard their family's Mississippi River shantyboat. But when their father must rush their mother to the hospital one stormy night, Rill is left in charge—until strangers arrive in force. Wrenched from all that is familiar and thrown into a Tennessee Children's Home Society orphanage, the Foss children are assured that they will soon be returned to their parents—but they quickly realize the dark truth. At the mercy of the facility's cruel director, Rill fights to keep her sisters and brother together in a world of danger and uncertainty. Aiken, South Carolina, present day. Born into wealth and privilege, Avery Stafford seems to have it all: a successful career as a federal prosecutor, a handsome fiancé, and a lavish wedding on the horizon. But when Avery returns home to help her father weather a health crisis, a chance encounter leaves her with uncomfortable questions and compels her to take a journey through her family's long-hidden history, on a path that will ultimately lead either to devastation or to redemption. Based on one of America's most notorious real-life scandals—in which Georgia Tann, director of a Memphis-based adoption organization, kidnapped and sold poor children to wealthy families all over the country—Lisa Wingate's riveting, wrenching, and ultimately uplifting tale reminds us how, even though the paths we take can lead to many places, the heart never forgets where we belong.*Library JournalPraise for Before We Were Yours"A [story] of a family lost and found . . . a poignant, engrossing tale about sibling love and the toll of secrets."—People"Sure to be one of the most compelling books you pick up this year. . . . Wingate is a master-storyteller, and you'll find yourself pulled along as she reveals the wake of terror and heartache that is Georgia Tann's legacy."—Parade"One of the year's best books . . . It is impossible not to get swept up in this near-perfect novel."—The Huffington Post"Lisa Wingate takes an almost unthinkable chapter in our nation's history and weaves a tale of enduring power."—Paula McLain, New York Times bestselling author of Circling the Sun
Publisher: 2017
Branch Call Number: Overdrive
Characteristics: 1 online resource
Reproduction: Electronic reproduction. New York : Ballantine Books, 2017. Requires OverDrive Read (file size: N/A KB) or Adobe Digital Editions (file size: 1368 KB) or Kobo app or compatible Kobo device (file size: N/A KB) or Amazon Kindle (file size: N/A KB)
Additional Contributors: OverDrive, Inc
ISBN: 9780425284698

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

ArapahoeAnnaL Sep 17, 2018

This historical novel dramatizes a shameful episode in American history where children from low income families were stolen and sold on the black market. "It’s estimated that over 5,000 children were stolen by (Georgia) Tann and the (Tennessee Children's Home) Society between 1924 and 1950 and that some 500 died at the society’s hands as a result of poor care, disease and, it is suspected, abuse.." - New York Post.

There are two plots, one takes place in 1939 in Tennessee and the other in present day North Carolina. There is some satisfying mystery and suspense as the connections between the two plots are revealed. Character development was less satisfying but the story is dramatic and absorbing.

j
Jessi52
Sep 12, 2018

Story of a family of blonde blue eyed children being torn from their family, some sold to wealthy families wanting children, others unknown where they ended up. Georgia Tann and the Tennessee Children's Home Society went unchecked for 30+ years, stealing and abusing children, while getting rich in the process. She had a judge in her pocket too, making the process easier for her. Heartbreaking.

b
bronteside
Sep 10, 2018

A story where fiction delivers the painful truths of
The state sanctioned theft of children ; a practice
so insidious it is allowed to continue for decades.
Shameful parallels to the wholesale ‘sixties scoop’of indigenous
children from their homes to residential schools come to mind.

k
kufsnmace
Aug 23, 2018

Kidnapping children is as old as time, at least most of them at this time had a chance.

ArapahoeDianeM Aug 18, 2018

I Really liked this book --- read it in two nights -- couldn't put it down. Great historical fiction -- going back & forth between the Present & 1939 in Tennessee --- and the current mystery of Avery, one of the main characters, trying to find out about her grandmother & family history.
The children who are in the orphanage are treated very poorly & sometimes I had to skim through portions because it was so tragic. A great Mystery and loved the ending.
At the end of the book, the author has included a summary of the true events of the Tennessee Children's Home during the 1939 to 1950 time period.

i
IpelengKgo
Aug 17, 2018

Lisa Wingate. I shall not forget her name nor the astonishingly descriptive, beautifully haunting and heartbreaking story of a family torn apart by greedy, unscrupulous people and those in authority who gave license to the people who stole so many children away from their biological families leaving them with no knowledge of their original heritage. It has been a while since a book grabbed me and drew me in the way “Before We Were Yours” did. I was both happy and sad to turn the last page.

l
lindahartm52
Aug 05, 2018

Story of two sisters who were stolen from a poor black family in Tennessee. The orphanage that "sold" them to white rich families. HOrrible conditions and ultimate joy.

s
susannemnelson
Jul 27, 2018

Enjoyed reading "Before We Were Yours" and learning about the history of adoption in our country. As an adoptive mother my heart broke as the story progressed in learning the fate of the Foss children and all children removed from their families by Miss Tann. There were many life lessons throughout the book on families, love, relationships, hardship, trusting, and determination. In the end, it was good to know Rill understood an adoptive family can be loving and nurturing to those they care for, but it can't take away the pain of losing your parents and siblings in a tragic way. So happy the two sisters were brought together in the end.

m
MaryJoSchifsky
Jul 27, 2018

Referred to in a Friends of St Paul library promo

m
MrsGentry2011
Jul 26, 2018

Loved this book! One of those that you don’t want to end but can’t put down.

View All Comments

Age

Add Age Suitability

m
Mya614
Jan 20, 2018

Mya614 thinks this title is suitable for 16 years and over

b
BRUCE PILCHER
Sep 26, 2017

BRUCE PILCHER thinks this title is suitable for 18 years and over

Quotes

Add a Quote

ArapahoeMaryA Jun 13, 2017

I clench my teeth so hard the pain travels all the way to the top of my head. I'm glad for it - it's just a little ache and I know where it comes from. I can stop it anytime I want. The one in my heart is way bigger. I can't fix it no matter how hard I try. It scares me so much that I can't even breathe.

"…the love of sisters needs no words. It does not depend on memories, or mementos or proof. It runs as deep as a heartbeat; it is as ever present as a pulse.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at Skokie Public Library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top