Now I Rise

Now I Rise

The Conqueror's Saga, Book 2

eBook - 2017
Average Rating:
Rate this:
2
The highly anticipated, mind-blowing New York Times bestselling sequel to Kiersten White's New York Times bestseller, AND I DARKEN—the series that reads like HBO's Game of Thrones . . . if it were set in the Ottoman Empire. A SISTER FILLED WITH RAGE Lada Dracul has no allies. No crown. All she has is what she's always had: herself. After failing to secure the Wallachian throne, Lada is out to punish anyone who dares cross her. She storms the countryside with her men, but brute force isn't getting Lada what she wants. And thinking of Mehmed, the defiant Ottoman sultan, brings little comfort to her thorny heart. There's no time to wonder whether he still thinks about her, even loves her. She left him before he could leave her. HER BROTHER CAUGHT IN THE CROSSHAIRS Lada needs the support of her diplomatic younger brother, Radu. But Mehmed has sent him to Constantinople—and it's no diplomatic mission. Mehmed wants control of the city, and Radu has earned an unwanted place as a double-crossing spy behind enemy lines. And for the first time in his life, when Lada asks him for help, he refuses . . . leading his sister to make the darkest of choices. THE ULTIMATE POWER PLAY Torn between loyalties to faith, to the Ottomans, and to Mehmed, Radu knows he owes Lada nothing. If she dies, he could never forgive himself—but if he fails in Constantinople, would Mehmed ever forgive him? As nations fall around them, the Dracul siblings must decide: what will they sacrifice to fulfill their destinies? Empires will topple, thrones will be won . . . and souls will be lost. Fans of Victoria Aveyard's THE RED QUEEN and Sabaa Tahir's A TORCH AGAINST THE NIGHT won't want to miss this riveting and gorgeously written novel—the second in the And I Darken series.★ "Gorgeous, rich, and rewarding."—Booklist, starred review★ "Absolutely devastating in the best way."—Kirkus, starred review"A+, 5 knives."—Amie Kaufman, New York Times bestselling co-author of the STARBOUND and ILLUMINAE FILES trilogies "Fierce, epic, and crazy fun."—Melissa Albert, New York Times bestselling author of THE HAZEL WOODA Teen Choice Book Award nominee! Praise for And I Darken: "A dark jewel of a story, one that gleams with fierce, cunning characters—absolutely riveting." —Alexandra Bracken, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Passenger "A dark, gritty, and seriously badass epic that will have you dying for more . . . required reading for every feminist fantasy fan." —BuzzFeed "Evocative . . . this book takes no prisoners." —NPR
Publisher: 2017
Branch Call Number: Overdrive
Characteristics: 1 online resource
Reproduction: Electronic reproduction. New York : Delacorte Press, 2017. Requires OverDrive Read (file size: N/A KB) or Adobe Digital Editions (file size: 13368 KB) or Kobo app or compatible Kobo device (file size: N/A KB) or Amazon Kindle (file size: N/A KB)
Additional Contributors: OverDrive, Inc
ISBN: 9780553522372

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

t
TEENREVIEWBOARD
Aug 09, 2017

And I Darken, the first book of this series, has proved to become one of my favourite YA novels. Now I Rise exceeded all my expectations.Lada has abandoned everything and everyone she loved, from her tender Radu to her determined Mehmed. Her blood brother and the one man who was worthy of her passion; she left it all with only her Wallachian soldiers. Her ultimate sacrifice was what made me love her, and this book never deviated from that. Lada was brutal, fierce, an unblinking murderer, pulling on any threads she had left to become prince of Wallachia. Her entire journey is a topic of its own, but myself being much like Radu, I had a difficult time processing her killings and murders of innocents. She left no stone unturned, let nothing block her path to making Wallachia a powerful country. Next, I need to applaud the author for Radu. Radu is the most beautiful character I have ever come across in a novel. His tender sweetness combined with his passion toward Mehmed made him a controversial character to some, but for me his travails made sense and made me feel for his character. The setting of the book, between Constantinople and the Ottoman Empire, had me conflicted, with the tales of murders and conflicts that occurred. Kiersten White doesn’t shy away from anything, and this will remain a favourite on my bookshelf for years to come. Rating 5/5

I don't find myself reading historical fiction too often because I often find myself liking it a lot or too little. In this scenario, it was in between. I really liked the character developments in Lada and Radu across the pages, as they choose against each other. Both with ties to Mehmed, they go on completely different paths as Lada is willing to kill all for "her" Wallachia, and Radu is willing to die for who he believes he loves. More characters come into the picture, and readers will marvel at the world so long ago Kierstin White has brought alive. This second installment justifies again that love and desire are not just some fickle feelings, but strong enough to tear down walls.
- @Siri of the Teen Review Board of the Hamilton Public Library

“Now I Rise” is truly one of my favorite books, this book drew me in and I couldn’t put it down. There is more than enough action and drama with Lada trying to secure the Wallachian throne and Radu in Constantinople as spy. Kiersten White definitely outdid herself with the character development as we see the true effects of love and power on Mehmed, Radu and Lada. I find historical fictions truly captivating, after I had read the book I wanted to learn more about Wallachia and the Ottoman Empire’s actual history. However it’s hard to imagine it without Lada, Radu and Mehmed. This book is definitely for ages 14+ as there are some mature subjects in the book. I strongly recommend this book if you are looking for a story that will enthrall you. Rating: 5/5 stars.
- @goldendog of the Teen Review Board at the Hamilton Public Library

b
beaglebabygirl
Jul 28, 2017

Don't let the cover fool you - this book is straight up historical fiction. Author Kiersten White continues her story of two siblings who are complicated and fascinating. There are no easy choices in this world. Themes of loyalty, love, friendship, and faith infuse the story. The last two chapters are perfect for the story - I would be content if she ended her series here.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at Skokie Public Library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top