Now I Rise

Now I Rise

eBook - 2017
Average Rating:
3
Rate this:
The highly anticipated, mind-blowing New York Times bestselling sequel to Kiersten White's New York Times bestseller, AND I DARKEN—the series that reads like HBO's Game of Thrones . . . if it were set in the Ottoman Empire. Fans of Victoria Aveyard's THE RED QUEEN and Sabaa Tahir's A TORCH AGAINST THE NIGHT won't want to miss this riveting and gorgeously written novel—the second in the And I Darken series. Lada Dracul has no allies. No throne. All she has is what she's always had: herself. After failing to secure the Wallachian throne, Lada is out to punish anyone who dares to cross her blood-strewn path. Filled with a white-hot rage, she storms the countryside with her men, accompanied by her childhood friend Bogdan, terrorizing the land. But brute force isn't getting Lada what she wants. And thinking of Mehmed brings little comfort to her thorny heart. There's no time to wonder whether he still thinks about her, even loves her. She left him before he could leave her. What Lada needs is her younger brother Radu's subtlety and skill. But Mehmed has sent him to Constantinople—and it's no diplomatic mission. Mehmed wants control of the city, and Radu has earned an unwanted place as a double-crossing spy behind enemy lines Radu longs for his sister's fierce confidence—but for the first time in his life, he rejects her unexpected plea for help. Torn between loyalties to faith, to the Ottomans, and to Mehmed, he knows he owes Lada nothing. If she dies, he could never forgive himself—but if he fails in Constantinople, will Mehmed ever forgive him? As nations fall around them, the Dracul siblings must decide: what will they sacrifice to fulfill their destinies? Empires will topple, thrones will be won . . . and souls will be lost.★ "Gorgeous, rich, and rewarding."—Booklist, starred review★ "Absolutely devastating in the best way."—Kirkus, starred review Praise for And I Darken "A dark jewel of a story, one that gleams with fierce, cunning characters—absolutely riveting." —Alexandra Bracken, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Passenger "A dark, gritty, and seriously badass epic that will have you dying for more . . . required reading for every feminist fantasy fan." —BuzzFeed "Evocative . . . this book takes no prisoners." —NPR
Publisher: 2017
Branch Call Number: OVERDRIVE
Characteristics: 1 online resource
Reproduction: Electronic reproduction. New York : Delacorte Press, 2017. Requires OverDrive Read (file size: N/A KB) or Adobe Digital Editions (file size: 3852 KB) or Kobo app or compatible Kobo device (file size: N/A KB) or Amazon Kindle (file size: N/A KB)
Additional Contributors: OverDrive, Inc
ISBN: 9780553522372

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

VaughanPLAlyssia Sep 05, 2017

I can’t decide if I like this one better than “And I Darken”. On the one hand, “And I Darken” was excellent until the plot revolved purely around how in love with Mehmed everyone is. And this book has far, far less Mehmed in it (a good thing). However I think the plot was a bit weaker in this second instalment; it really does feel like the middle book. Not sure where the story is going to go from here, but I’m invested enough in the characters that I want to find out. The characterization is this series’ strongest point, and it’s as well-done here as it was in the first book. Lada is as formidable and uncompromising as ever, and I really love that as a female character, she acknowledges her love for Mehmed but doesn’t let that stand in the way of her goals. Radu’s blind obsession with Mehmed continues to annoy me, but it leads to some interesting conflict when he’s sent away to Constantinople as a spy. Both siblings do terrible things—in the name of power and in the desire for love—but that’s what makes this series so captivating. The world building is also a series strong point, so much so that I feel a bit lost now that I’m not in that world anymore!

t
TEENREVIEWBOARD
Aug 09, 2017

I don't find myself reading historical fiction too often because I often find myself liking it a lot or too little. In this scenario, it was in between. I really liked the character developments in Lada and Radu across the pages, as they choose against each other. Both with ties to Mehmed, they go on completely different paths as Lada is willing to kill all for "her" Wallachia, and Radu is willing to die for who he believes he loves. More characters come into the picture, and readers will marvel at the world so long ago Kierstin White has brought alive. This second installment justifies again that love and desire are not just some fickle feelings, but strong enough to tear down walls.
- @Siri of the Teen Review Board of the Hamilton Public Library

b
beaglebabygirl
Jul 28, 2017

Don't let the cover fool you - this book is straight up historical fiction. Author Kiersten White continues her story of two siblings who are complicated and fascinating. There are no easy choices in this world. Themes of loyalty, love, friendship, and faith infuse the story. The last two chapters are perfect for the story - I would be content if she ended her series here.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at Skokie Public Library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top