New Kid

New Kid

Graphic Novel - 2019 | First edition
Average Rating:
Rate this:
"Seventh grader Jordan Banks loves nothing more than drawing cartoons about his life. But instead of sending him to the art school of his dreams, his parents enroll him in a prestigious private school known for its academics, where Jordan turns out to be one of the few kids of color in his entire grade. As he makes the daily trip from his Washington Heights apartment to the upscale Riverdale Academy Day School, Jordan soon finds himself torn between two worlds--and not really fitting into either one. Middle school's hard enough without all the unspoken rules and expectations that come with being the new kid! Can Jordan learn to navigate his new school culture while keeping his neighborhood friends and staying true to himself?"--Dust jacket flap.
Publisher: New York, NY : Harper, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers, [2019]
Edition: First edition
Copyright Date: ©2019
Branch Call Number: NEW KID
Characteristics: 249 pages : chiefly illustrations (chiefly color) ; 23 cm
Additional Contributors: Callahan, Jim - Colorist
ISBN: 9780062691194
9780062691200

Opinion

From Library Staff

Perfect for fans of Raina Telegemeier and Gen Luen Yang, This is the story of Jordan Banks, who is trying to find his place in his new school (which is NOT the art school he had hoped to attend.) My favorite parts of this book are the peeks into Jordan’s sketchbook where he draws comics based on ... Read More »

In this graphic novel that makes you think and laugh at the same time, 7-grader Jordan Banks is a great cartoonist who wants to go to art school. But his parents want him to attend the elite Riverdale Academy Day School to make sure he is a success in life. As soon as he walks through Riverdale’s... Read More »


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at Skokie Public Library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top