Eight Perfect Murders

Eight Perfect Murders

A Novel

Book - 2020 | First edition
Average Rating:
Rate this:
14
"Years ago, bookseller and mystery aficionado Malcolm Kershaw compiled a list of the genre's most unsolvable murders, those that are almost impossible to crack--which he titled "Eight Perfect Murders"--chosen from among the best of the best including Agatha Christie's A. B. C. Murders, Patricia Highsmith's Strangers on a Train, Ira Levin's Death Trap, A. A. Milne's Red House Mystery, Anthony Berkeley Cox's Malice Aforethought, James M. Cain's Double Indemnity, John D. Macdonald's The Drowner, and Donna Tartt's A Secret History. But no one is more surprised than Mal, now the owner of the Old Devils Bookstore in Boston, when an FBI agent comes knocking on his door one snowy day in February. She's looking for information about a series of unsolved murders that look eerily similar to the killings on Mal's old list. And the FBI agent isn't the only one interested in this bookseller who spends almost every night at home reading. There is killer is out there, watching his every move--a diabolical threat who knows way too much about Mal's personal history, especially the secrets he's never told anyone, even his recently deceased wife. To protect himself, Mal begins looking into possible suspects . . . and sees a killer in everyone around him. But Mal doesn't count on the investigation leaving a trail of death in its wake. Suddenly, a series of shocking twists leaves more victims dead--and the noose around Mal's neck grows so tight he might never escape." -- Amazon.com
Publisher: New York, NY : William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, [2020]
Edition: First edition
Copyright Date: ©2020
Branch Call Number: FICTION SWA
Characteristics: 270 pages ; 24 cm
Alternative Title: 8 perfect murders
ISBN: 9780062838209
0062838202

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
j
JLMason
May 21, 2020

Centred on an independent, specialty book store, Eight Perfect Murders is a homage to classic and modern mysteries and detective stories. The first half is immediately engaging and holds the promise of delightful plot twists, red herrings, and unexpected revelations. It establishes the book store manager as narrator, the cast of characters, and the thread of possibly connected murders based on well-known mystery books. But the second half is oddly anti-climatic and disappointing, the promise unfulfilled. However, the book communicates the joy of perusing the shelves of a used book store, of discovering a new author and series, of holding a book in hand weighty with potential, and of rereading it years later with new perspective. Hmmmm. Perhaps it’s time to return to Agatha Christie . . .

k
kiml00
Apr 26, 2020

A book discussion and information within a book. A warning, the eight books listed by the narrators are somewhat classic mystery books and there are information and discussions about it so definitely would be a spoiler if you’ve never read those book. It did peaked my interest in those books though and I might forget the details by the time I actually read those books.
The narrator tell past stories and I should’ve have taken notes on the timing of the events. It might have helped me put piece the events together better. The suspend was good and I was thinking of all the twist that could happen but the ending didn’t pan out like I had imagined. It was very anticlimactic. In a way, I guess it fits with the tone of the book. I think the end was open ended and the narrator wants us to believe what he was planning to do but I don’t trust him.

c
carolefort
Apr 12, 2020

Rules for Perfect Murders by Peter Swanson is my favorite mystery this year so far. This is a book lover’s dream book. Years ago, Malcolm Kershaw, owner of mystery bookstore Old Devils in Boston, wrote a blog listing eight books that he thought best represented unsolvable murders. The books were written by some of the most renowned mystery writers: Agatha Christie, Patricia Highsmith, Ira Levin, etc. Years later, Malcolm is notified by the FBI that they are conducting an investigation into murders that are being committed by someone who appears to be using his list of famous authors and books. It soon becomes apparent to Malcolm that the perpetrator must be someone he knows and he begins to suspect almost everyone in his life. This book will have you guessing all the way through. If you like old murder mysteries, you will love this new one. Highly recommended. Thank you to Faber and Faber Ltd. and NetGalley for the e-ARC in exchange for an honest review.

Nicr Apr 08, 2020

Someone is murdering people based on an old book blog post by Malcolm Kershaw, thirty-something widower and mystery bookstore owner--and storyteller. Full of twists and turns and book and movie references, it's a lit lover's pure pleasure.

g
GSTONER
Apr 07, 2020

Another great Peter Swanson book. The title refers to classic mysteries--list of 8 books--that I definitely want to try. Fantastic Fiction says it is the 1st in a series (Malcolm Kershaw)--hope that is true.

JCLBetM Mar 26, 2020

A quick, clever read that keeps your mind engaged but does nothing for your (my) feelings. I prefer books with more heart, so though I can give a nod to the author, it won't be listed among my favorites.

k
Katie_Dublin
Mar 21, 2020

A fun, quick read. Sure, the plot is a bit ridiculous, but it's an enjoyable homage to the genre. Perfect for fans of Caroline Kepnes' You.

e
Eil_1
Mar 20, 2020

This was a somewhat tedious plotted 'thriller'. Forced myself to finish the book. "Throw Mama from the Train" with DeVito and Schwats... was perhaps taken from one of the books on Malcom's blog. Wouldn't recommend it - as one other reviewer wrote "too ho-hum".

b
brangwinn
Mar 08, 2020

I was introduced to some new to me mysteries, but overall, I’d say this book is ho-hum. found the fact an FBI agent worked with a private individual on solving crimes implausible. I could see the FBI agent consulting with an expert on mysteries, but the expert not being an active participant. The concept of how two murderers were able to manipulate each other into action didn’t ring true. What did feel true was the bookstore and the love of books.

JCLPiepieB Mar 03, 2020

This is the book Caroline Kepnes fans should read while waiting for You season 3 and a third Joe Goldberg book. You won't be able to put this one down!

View All Comments

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at Skokie Public Library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top