Meet Cute

Meet Cute

eBook - 2019
Average Rating:
Rate this:
5
1
1
The New York Times bestselling author of Pucked and The Good Luck Charm delivers a Hollywood happily-ever-after where a famous heartthrob falls for his ultimate fangirl. "As charming as its title, but it's also so much more... Fans of Jasmine Guillory's The Wedding Date and Helen Hoang's The Kiss Quotient will love Meet Cute ." — The Washington Independent Review of Books Kailyn Flowers was always calm, rational, and controlled—until she ended up sprawled all over Daxton Hughes, the former actor she totally crushed on as a teenager. Then she did the unthinkable: She became a mortifying fangirl in five seconds flat, which may or may not have included professing her undying love. And oddly, he didn't run away. In fact, their meet cute led to a friendship she never saw coming. Of course, she never saw his betrayal coming, either... Now Dax needs her help. As guardian to his thirteen-year-old sister, he's in way over his head. And though Kailyn hasn't forgiven Dax, she isn't heartless enough to make him fend for himself, either. Soon their friendly meetings turn into flirty dinner dates, and Kailyn can feel their chemistry is as explosive as ever. But how can she possibly let down her guard again to a guy who has heartbreak written all over him? Goodreads Hottest Romances of 2019 Featured in Entertainment Weekly O, The Oprah Magazine Best Romance Novels of 2019 Featured on PopSugar Women's Health Best Romance Novels of 2019 SheReads Most Anticipated Reads of 2019 Heroes & Heartbreakers Anticipated Books of 2019 Chatelaine's Hottest Romances of 2019
Publisher: 2019
Branch Call Number: Overdrive
Characteristics: 1 online resource
Reproduction: Electronic reproduction. New York : Forever, 2019. Requires OverDrive Read (file size: N/A KB) or Adobe Digital Editions (file size: 862 KB) or Kobo app or compatible Kobo device (file size: N/A KB) or Amazon Kindle (file size: N/A KB)
Additional Contributors: OverDrive, Inc
ISBN: 9781538760161

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
JCLAshleyW Apr 21, 2020

This was an adorable book that I didn't want to end. Ms. Hunting takes a pop culture ion and his biggest fan and creates a cute, unconventional family. The humor and "realness" of particular situations made for an authentic, fun read that was over far too soon.

c
Carynmoir
Oct 21, 2019

Humorous and fun, but.... I had trouble getting past the ethical issues of a conservator becoming involved with the custodial party in a custody dispute. I know, this is romance and romance is often escapist fantasy, but I kept thinking that Kailyn was going to get called in front of the bar for ethical violations. This kinda ruined any escaping I was doing, so not this wasn’t a book that would inspire me to read others by this author.

a
AConsolver
Sep 26, 2019

4 Stars - I recommend if you enjoy humorous contemporary romance.

When Kailyn meets her TV crush, Daxton Hughes, and finds out that he goes to her law school, she instantly makes a fool of herself. She also gains a very gorgeous rival for the remainder of her law school program. When he throws her under the bus at the end of school, she never wants to see him again. Years later they meet again, setting up a trust for his younger sister, Emme. When his parents unexpectedly die he becomes his Emme's guardian and inherits his parent's estate. He's trying to navigate his own emotions, let alone issues that preteen girls deal with. And his aunt is suing for custody. The two will be legally brought together for the good of Emme and change opinions of each other as they go along.

This was my first book by Helena Hunting. I thought it was really cute, and actually had a decent amount of depth to it too. It definitely had the super funny parts, but also bits that made me teary. I thought that the awkward meeting was funny and cute, and set them up for an awkward reunion later on. I honestly loved the parts with Emme the most. I'm apparently a sucker for the "single dad" trope, even though he's not Emme's dad, this really pulled at my heartstrings. I thought that Dax trying to navigate preteen parenthood was super funny, and of course the period section was particularly hysterical! I enjoyed the chemistry between Dax and Kailyn, but I loved the emotional depth even more. Overall I would recommend this one if you enjoy contemporary romantic comedies.

JessicaGma Sep 03, 2019

Not quite as solid as say a "Kiss Quotient" or "The Hating Game", Meet Cute is a decent romance where everything works out in the end. I liked the lady characters but the famous Daxton seemed a little underbaked.

JCLStefanieE May 04, 2019

Fun, sexy, and very cinematic. Much better than the average Hallmark movie, but not far off... a great escape.

Age

Add Age Suitability
c
CORI D. MORRIS
Apr 10, 2020

CORI D. MORRIS thinks this title is suitable for 18 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary
c
CORI D. MORRIS
Apr 10, 2020

This was a charming read with a serious and meaningful vein about the importance of finding family. Meet Daxton Hughes, teenage actor and heartthrob, who happens to be Kailyn's biggest celebrity crush. Their meet cute is one for the books involving a frisbee and an epic fangirl moment. Moments after she has completely embarrassed herself in front of her dream guy, she discovers they are in the same classes together. Except going to Law school with Daxton Hughes isn't as glamorous as it sounds.

Flash forward a couple years and Kaylin is a legendary lawyer in her own right and well on her way to becoming partner by age 30. But when an unexpected turn of events put her in close proximity to Daxton yet again for better or for worse. Lines are blurred and her heart starts dreaming again, and she discovers what she really longs for. And its right in front of her. This a tale of love, loss, and finding your true place in the world with a little hope and determination. A wonderful read that pulls on the heart strings! A great Summer read!

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at Skokie Public Library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top