Fifty Words for Rain

Fifty Words for Rain

A Novel

Book - 2020
Average Rating:
Rate this:
7
2
Kyoto, Japan, 1948. Noriko "Nori" Kamiza will not question why her mother abandoned her, or her confinement to the attic of her grandparents' imperial estate. And she will not resist the scalding chemical baths she receives daily to lighten her shameful skin. The illegitimate child of a Japanese aristocrat and her African American GI lover, Nori is an outsider from birth. Her grandparents take her in only to conceal her, fearful of a stain on the royal pedigree that they are desperate to uphold in a changing Japan. When chance brings her legitimate older half-brother, Akira, to the estate that is his inheritance and destiny, the siblings form an unlikely but powerful bond - one their formidable grandparents cannot allow and that will irrevocably change the lives they were always meant to lead. -- adapted from jacket
Contents: Prelude
Part I. Water song ; The boy with the violin ; Hikari (light) ; "Ave Maria" ; Delphinium ; Ame (rain)
Part II. Exile ; Tree song ; Impasse ; Sonata ; Fear no evil ; The only thing immortal
Part III. Traitor's requiem ; Night song ; Aurora
Part IV. Skin ; But nowhere is home ; Chrysanthemum
Publisher: [New York] : Dutton, [2020]
Copyright Date: ©2020
Branch Call Number: FICTION LEM
Characteristics: viii, 452 pages ; 24 cm
Alternative Title: 50 words for rain
ISBN: 9781524746360
1524746363

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
e
erikitajones
Mar 05, 2021

This book does not deserve the high ratings it has received in the general public. The characters are flat, storylines left hanging, and its main character's actions do not make sense and there is no explanation as to why. On the whole, a depressing story that could have been written much, much better.

e
Elsda5
Feb 15, 2021

Wonderfully written book about a changing culture and the those caught in the cross fires of it. Well worth the read. Couldn't put it down. Anxious for more from this new author.

b
blue_dolphin_3322
Jan 21, 2021

great book with amazing character development and a heart wrenching plot, cant wait to read more by asha lemmie.

a
adanielle
Jan 21, 2021

generic, unoriginal writing. gave up after a few dozen pages

ArapahoeKati Jan 13, 2021

This was almost a five-star read until the final third of the book, when all that wonderful, exquisite detail and character development fell off and felt rushed. I was hoping for something in the vein of "Pachinko" or "Memoirs of a Geisha."

g
gardenvortex
Dec 24, 2020

A few pages into this story, I had to check and see if I had requested a young adult book by accident. If you enjoy a well constructed story line with character development, do not select this book as you will be so disappointed. A 13 year old girl may enjoy it though.

m
Memawrayne
Dec 07, 2020

An amazing story about a victim of prejudice and pre-conceived ideas toward biracial individuals. The main character had more to deal with than many of us but she survived.

Age

Add Age Suitability
b
blue_dolphin_3322
Jan 21, 2021

blue_dolphin_3322 thinks this title is suitable for 16 years and over

g
gardenvortex
Dec 16, 2020

gardenvortex thinks this title is suitable for 12 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at Skokie Public Library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top